Home > Acknowledgments


Invisible Histories was a collective effort that involved the support and enthusiasm of many people. We'd like to thank:

The faculty and staff Birmingham Public Library, especially Jim Baggett

The Invisible Histories Project, especially Joshua Burford, Maigen Sullivan, and Meg Faulkner 

The Summersell Center for the Study of the South, the Department of History, and Dr. Lesley Gordon, Summersell Chair in Southern History 

The Alabama Digital Humanities Center, especially Dr. Anne Ladyem McDivitt and James Michelich

Dean Tom Wilson

Dr. Joshua Rothman

We especially want to thank the faculty and staff at W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library, including Dean Lorraine Madway, Dr. Kate Matheny, Erin Ryan, Laura Gentry, Marina Klaric, and Kevin Ray.